May 29 2019

Mornington Ramble

Published by under Hikers

3. 29/5/2019. Mornington Street Walk. M. Leaders: Lester and Doug.

Vehicles were parked in Raglan St and 21 keen hikers set off …

C.1) a walk through Morningtonc

A walk through Mornington. (Clive pic and caption.)

… along Elgin Road and down Wills St to Oakwood Ave, where we viewed No 82, “Clyde Hill”, a historic Mornington land-mark with its four distinctive chimneys, built in the 1870s for the Mitchell family.  

Before Forfar St existed, the Mitchell Ave – Glenpark Ave intersection was the terminus for the Maryhill Cable Car extension, opened in 1885 and closed in 1955.  Further along Glenpark Ave we came to No 155, the home of A H (Alfred Hamish) Reed. AH was an exceptional man, the founder of Reed Publishing and a great benefactor to Dunedin, but best remembered for his long-distance walking. 

Morning tea was had in the park nearby, before proceeding back up Forfar St and along Glenpark Ave, into Picardy and Lesney streets, down Crosby and back into Glenpark, enjoying the views of the harbour and surrounds, and noting renovated villas, unique retaining walls and the interesting 1882 “Triangular Hall”.

Then on again, along Glenpark Ave and so to Eglinton Rd for a toilet stop before a detour down the hill to the site of the old High Street School, now the scene of a sustainable urban co-housing project, unique for Dunedin.  

Back up through the park to the cable car terminus and a chance to sit down while we heard about the plans to bring back the Mornington cable car.

C.2 & 3) Lester explains the hopeful reintroduction of the tramsc

Lester explains the hopeful reintroduction of the trams. (Clive pic and caption.)

C.3) Lester explains the hopeful reintroduction of the tramsc

Lester explains the hopeful reintroduction of the trams. (Clive pic and caption.)

  It was surprising to discover how far these enterprising people have come already, with several cars restored, a cable car house constructed, and plans well advanced for laying of the cable – finance being the major barrier, but high hopes held for help from the Provincial Growth Fund.

Lunch was had in the adjoining park, but with a cold wind right in our faces there was no incentive to linger too long.  After a quick detour to view the site of the steepest line section in the world which dropped from here down into Glenpark Ave, we went back to Eglinton Rd, left into Whitby St, right into Argyle St and so to Elgin Rd and the march to the cars. 

Coffee was had at the Village Green.

Thanks to Lester and Doug for a great day out. – Judy.

2. 18/9/2013.Hikers. From Unity Park north. Leaders: Lance and Lois.

GPS of part only of route

GPS of part-only of route. Started late and battery ran out.

Wednesday’s walk for the hikers was a street walk led by Lance and Lois Woodfield. The day was sunny and there was no wind.

Fifteen of us met at Unity Park near the top of Eglington Road. The statue of Admiral Bryd [1888-1957] is positioned facing the Antarctic. Byrd was a famous American explorer. His statue caused a lot of letters to the editor at the Otago Daily Times when it was first mooted as it has its back  to the city.

We wandered our way north thru the streets around the town belt.

Lance and Lois were very informative about the historic houses in the area, some Victorian in style, others Edwardian. [Edit note: Others again detached terrace houses, with windowless brick walls on either side. Just English transplants.]

At one point we came to the Arts and Craft house designed by Basil Hooper [1876-1960], a famous architect who designed more
than 80 houses. Features were curved gutter brackets, coloured leadlight windows and sweeping roofs.

The day got very warm so everyone was pleased to stop at Olveston for lunch. Did you know that the public can access the grounds free to look at gardens and the garage where the Theomins’ 1921 Fiat 510 Tourer is housed in a glass case? The Edwardian Olveston was gifted to the city by the Theomins as a treasure of bygone days.

Neil Buckley was very knowledgeable on the early cable cars and trams. He pointed out where they ran.

So we carried on up and down quite a lot of steps and lanes  in this old part of the city. Adam Street has some 1890 houses, all fully restored. My grandmother lived at No. 8 in the 1900s.

We did have a good  day.  We walked approx. 8.9 kms.

Some of us went to Flax in Caversham for coffee afterwards. – Elaine.

1. 17/9/2008 Hikers. Mornington Ramble Leaders: Bev H, Bev M

Eighteen hikers, including a German Rotary Exchange student, Hanne, who was taking the opportunity to see another part of her host city, set off from Lookout Point on a morning where walking anywhere would be pure pleasure. It was a glorious spring day, reflected in the many beautiful gardens we passed where spring blooms were in full flower. Bev led us down several quiet little side roads where many of us had never been before. From a number of places there were extensive views over the city and ocean. The mix of older style houses with modern ones was interesting in what is surely one of the most attractive residential areas in the city. We partook of a little local history, viewing the home of A. H. Reed and the old tram building. At lunchtime we basked in the sun at Mornington Park before the return journey. Altogether it was a very pleasant morning out. – Bev.

Leaders:

17/9/2008

No responses yet




Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply